WHS Sports Awards Night full of honors

By Kathryn Elliott - ReminderNews
Windsor - posted Thu., Jun. 16, 2011
Softball player Laressa Tessier accepts a CCC All-Academic recognition from WHS Athletic Director Steve Risser. Photos by Kathryn Elliott.
Softball player Laressa Tessier accepts a CCC All-Academic recognition from WHS Athletic Director Steve Risser. Photos by Kathryn Elliott.

On Tuesday, June 7, local student athletes and their many supporters gathered for Windsor High School’s Spring Sports Awards Night.

Athletic Director Steve Risser began the evening by recognizing the outstanding accomplishments Windsor’s student athletes have contributed throughout the season, both on the playing fields and in the classroom. In all, more than 70 students were recognized as members of the CCC All-Academic Team, and 40 students were named to the CCC All-Conference Team.

In addition to turning out CIAC Class L state champions in both boys’ and girls’ track, the Warriors boys’ lacrosse team claimed the CCC East tournament championship.

Twelve students were selected for the state’s most respected high school athletic honor, the All-State team: Devin Over – baseball; Zachary Langs – 100/300 hurdles; Gregory Andrade – high jump; Nastasya Rodriques – 4X4 and 4X8 relay; Ashley Graves – 4X4 relay; Sydnee Over – 400M, 4X4 and 4X8; Brianna Allen – 4X4 and 4X100 relay; Courtney Kearse – 4X100 relay; Chalsea Clarke – 4X100 relay; and Janae Wilson – long jump and 4X100. Additionally, Adriana Tasillo and Spencer Keilich were elected to the All-State Team as CAS/CIAC Scholar Athletes.

The Coaches Award is Windsor’s version of the MVP. Coaches take into account statistical information, character and leadership qualities, and select the student who best exemplifies these attributes. The following were awarded the WHS 2011 Coaches Awards: Devin Over – baseball; Christopher O’Shea – Golf; Zachary Langs – boys’ track; Janae Wilson – girls’ track; Mike Truong – boys’ tennis; Tery Vinh – girls’ tennis; Jamie Wakefield – girls’ lacrosse; Sierra Shemanskis – softball; and Perry Booker – boys’ lacrosse.

The Tomahawk Award is presented to one athlete per team who makes contributions in areas of leadership, character, dedication, spirit and sportsmanship, with statistics playing only a minor role. The WHS 2011 Tomahawk winners were: Garrett Thomas – baseball; Jacob Dowgewicz – golf; Alexander Smith – boys’ track; Nastasya Rodriques – girls’ track; Charles Armstrong Hicks – boys’ tennis; Mary Bramucci – girls’ tennis; Kathryn Zeugner – girls’ lacrosse; Molly Parker – softball; and Christopher Reid – boys’ lacrosse.

Let us know what you think!
Please be as specific as possible.
Include your name and email if you would like a response back.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the code without spaces and pay attention to upper/lower case.