East Granby High finishes spring sports season with Awards Night

By Kathryn Elliott - ReminderNews
East Granby - posted Thu., Jun. 23, 2011
Coach Doherty with All-Conference team selections Dani Davis and Rachel Visgilio. Photos by Kathryn Elliott.
Coach Doherty with All-Conference team selections Dani Davis and Rachel Visgilio. Photos by Kathryn Elliott.

On June 14, East Granby High School Athletic Director Bob Paskiewicz addressed the crowd of student-athletes and their families gathered for Spring Sports Awards Night. “I am very proud of what we have accomplished at East Granby this year,” said Paskiewicz. “I am pleased to report all of our spring sports teams qualified for the CIAC Class S state tournament this year; this a tremendous achievement worth recognizing.”

Seven students were named as All-Conference players: Jason Byers (baseball), Anna Glassman (softball), Meghan Rosenberger (tennis/singles), Emma Spirko (tennis/singles), Dani Davis (tennis/doubles), Rachel Visgilio (tennis/doubles), and Brian Nussbaum (tennis/singles). One student, senior Jason Byers, was selected for the All-State baseball team.

Coaches presented individual honors to students who excelled in the categories of leadership, improvement and skill. The baseball team, under the leadership of coach Bob Bromage, advanced to the second round of the CIAC Class S tournament, eventually falling to East Catholic. Bromage recognized the following players as key standouts this season: Jason Byers – MVP, EJ Lavoie – Best Infielder, Tyler Frickle – Most Improved Player, and Brian Watterlond – Most Versatile.

In boys’ track, coach Dave Mendrala named Matt Plante MVP, while Tyler Clark took home the Coach’s Award for his leadership role and determination. Luke Sotil was named Most Improved. On the girls’ team, Mendrala named Caroline Eastman was named MVP, Katie Hoadley took the Coach’s Award, and Caroline Roohr received the Dedication Award.

Softball coach Carl Ferrara commended on his team reaching the CIAC tournament’s second round and took time to thank assistant coaches Kim Chamberlain and Brian Glamuzina for their efforts during his absence. The following students took home softball honors: Anna Glassman – MVP, Alissa Gileau – Most Improved, Taylor Seelen – Most Improved, and Michaela Gothers – Coach’s Award.

Girls’ tennis coach Tim Doherty poked fun at his tenure with EGHS, commenting on his once-black hair color transitioning to stark white over his more than 20-year run with the school. Doherty recognized the following tennis standouts: Anna Bouchard – Most Improved, Allie Sales – Most Improved, Brianna Rhymes – MVP, and Eileen Dempsey – Coach’s Award.

With their team finishing ninth in the tournament with a combined score of 348, the boys’ golf coaching staff honored Jared Lowenstein – Coach’s Award, Ryan Berlinger – Most Improved, and Cody Seaman – MVP.

Let us know what you think!
Please be as specific as possible.
Include your name and email if you would like a response back.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the code without spaces and pay attention to upper/lower case.