Willimantic 'B' All-Stars capture title

By Melanie Savage - Staff Writer
Willimantic - posted Mon., Aug. 1, 2011
Willimantic 'B' All-Stars players hang out in the dugout during the championship game against Norwich on July 29. Photos by Melanie Savage.
Willimantic 'B' All-Stars players hang out in the dugout during the championship game against Norwich on July 29. Photos by Melanie Savage.

Among the 9- and-10-year-old local Little League teams, there are a number of towns that sponsor “B” teams in addition to their regular All-Star teams. “It gives the younger kids a chance to get more experience, and to play in an All-Star league,” said Willimantic team coach John Lebiszczak. In District 11, the towns competing in the “B” All-Star tournament were Jewett City, Sprague/Franklin/Canterbury, Norwich and Willimantic.

On Friday, July 29, the top two teams met each other in Willimantic. The Willimantic team entered the championship tournament with a 5-1 record. Norwich entered the tourney with 3 wins and 2 losses.

Willimantic took the lead in the bottom of the first with a base hit RBI by Joe Buskey. Norwich came back quickly in the top of the second with two runs. Norwich's Vicente Rodriguez had a double in the second. Norwich added two runs in the third, with singles by Geo Ballinger and Gus Reynolds. In the top of the fourth, Norwich added three more runs scored by Geo Ballinger, Bert Ogdon and Ryan Cash. Willimantic added one run in the bottom of the fourth, with Spencer Charron scoring on a lead-off single.

At the top of the fifth, Norwich added two runs scored by Ogdon and Cash. Willimantic came back at the bottom of the fifth with eight runs scored off of three singles by Isaiah DeJesus, Joe Buskey and Carlos Torres, and eight walks.

At the top of the sixth, Norwich added a run to tie the score at 10-10.  Willimantic's Alex Merced hit a lead-off double at the bottom of the sixth, which was pinch run by Isaiah Rivera. Isaiah DeJesus then hit a walk-off single that scored Isaiah Rivera for the winning run. The winning pitcher for Willimantic was Carlos Torres. The 11-10 victory claimed the District 11 9-10 “B” All-Stars championship title for Willimantic.

Coaches for the Willimantic team are: John Lebiszczak, Tim Charron and Kirk Jenkins.

The Willimantic 9-10 “B” All-Stars are: Alex Merced, Isaiah DeJesus, Joe Buskey, Carlos Torres, Isaiah Rivera, Josh Rodriguez, Kayden Parrilla, Alex Lebiszczak, Leon Brown, Spencer Charron, DJ Colon and Jaelyn Dunnack.

Let us know what you think!
Please be as specific as possible.
Include your name and email if you would like a response back.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the code without spaces and pay attention to upper/lower case.