Fall sports awards at Windsor Locks High School

By Kathryn Elliott - ReminderNews
Windsor Locks - posted Thu., Dec. 15, 2011
The Windsor Locks girls' swim team had seven athletes named as NCCC Scholar-Athletes.
The Windsor Locks girls' swim team had seven athletes named as NCCC Scholar-Athletes.

Raiders fans came out in force on Nov. 30, as Windsor Locks High School Principal Sharon Cournoyer welcomed students and their families to the fall sports awards. Athletes from soccer, swimming, cheerleading, cross-country and football were honored for their hard work both on the field and in the classroom.

In addition to varsity letters and senior plaques, select students were awarded designation as All-Conference, All-State, NCCC Scholar-Athlete and Coaches’ Award recipients.

Under coach Frank Giannuzzi, boys’ soccer ended 2011 at 5-12-1, and had four players selected All-Conference: Tyler DeMarco, Jake, Levesque, Max Prebit and Taylor Starbird. Additionally, Levesque, Prebit and Starbird were named NCCC Scholar-Athletes with 13 teammates: Chase Dargie, Christopher Toce, Bao Tran, Alexander Bouchard, Colin Eversdyke, Joshua Lambert, Steven Lucia, Jonathan Oliveira, Brett Sherman, Mitchel Charette, John Silliman, Michael Smalley and Nicholas Worley. Dargie was the boys’ soccer Coaches’ Award winner. DeMarco was also named to the All-State team.

Girls’ soccer finished at 5-11. Coach Jim O’Brien awarded 20 NCCC Scholar-Athletes: Mariah Brown, Morgan Burke, Francesca Gentile, Victoria Hellberg, Sarah Jenkins, Greer Lesnieski, Victoria Libretta, Mariah Weigert, Ali Bernard, Kayla Hoyt, Hailey Johnson, Amanda Loubier, Rachel Loughran, Nancy Montemerlo, Kayla Pelletier, Jazlyn Veloso, Dominique Boyd, Carley Hoynoski, Jamie McGloin and Angela Quagliaroli. Margaret Sayers received the Coaches’ Award.

Michelle Forthofer presented Maci Junck with the cheerleading Coaches’ Award. Junck and teammates Samantha Maturah, Cristina Szepanski and Karina Austin were named NCCC Scholar-Athletes.

Cross-country coach Brian Carroll selected Justin Mazza for the Coaches’ Award.

Nicolette LaPierre and Ashley Fabi shared the Coaches’ Award for girls’ swimming. Coach Tammi Haynes recognized LaPierre and Fabi as NCCC Scholar-Athletes, along with Jaime Hultgren, Tara Rasmussen, Kimberly Love, Jamie Kulas and Kathryn LaPierre.

Football ended the season at 1-9. Coach Marty Powers presented his senior players - Richard Congelosi, Dylan Falso, Franklin Medina, Mickeal Perry, John Ratcliffe, Jeremy Voyer and Paul Wrabel - with a plaque honoring their time with the team. Voyer took home the Coaches’ Award.

Let us know what you think!
Please be as specific as possible.
Include your name and email if you would like a response back.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the code without spaces and pay attention to upper/lower case.