Suffield High School fall sports wrap-up

By Kathryn Elliott - ReminderNews
Suffield - posted Fri., Dec. 23, 2011
Suffield girls' soccer reached the quarterfinal round of the CIAC tournament. Photos by Kathryn Elliott.
Suffield girls' soccer reached the quarterfinal round of the CIAC tournament. Photos by Kathryn Elliott.

Suffield High School’s fall sports season ended in dramatic fashion.

Mowing down Bethel, Killingly and Plainfield in the CIAC Class M tournament, the boys’ soccer team defeated Granby Memorial 2-0, capturing the championship. At the school’s Fall Sports Awards Night, coach Mark Beigel presented the following students with special honors: Jake Picard, MVP; Sean Sullivan, MIP; Stephen Silva, Coaches Award; and Alex Drake, 12th Player Award.

Coach Dave Sullivan and the girls’ soccer team advanced to the quarterfinal round of the CIAC tournament. Falling to Granby Memorial, 2-1, the girls finished with a 14-3-1 record. At Awards Night, Michelle D’Agata was named MIP; Gabija Pileika, Brianna Bishop and Peri Stevens were co-Coaches Award winners.

Field hockey ended at 8-7-1, qualifying for a trip to the CIAC tournament, where they fell to Wilton in the first round, 3-0. Coach Dan Gatto made the following award presentations: Brenna Frechette, MVP; Katie Mahoney, MIP; Natalie Hitt and Isabella Isotti, Coaches Awards.

Coach Jaymeson Horanzy and the girls’ swim team placed fifth at the CIAC Class S tournament, with a combined score of 326. Awards were presented to Kristen Dupuis, MVP; Alicia Wilson, MIP; and Alicia Wilson, Jillian Seymour and Kayla Donais, Coaches Award.

Ending the regular season at 1-9, football coach Marty Powers selected Jesse Rocheleau, MVP; Curtis Cauley, Best Defense; and Brady Schoner, Coaches Award. Keeping the crowd on their feet, cheerleader Shannon Murphy was awarded MIP.

In their first season in Class M, the volleyball team went 1-14. Coach Bruce Hargraves presented awards to: Casey Ryan, MVP; Kim Rossi, MIP; Mandy Chamberlain, Leadership Award; and Gabrielle Zirolli, Sportsmanship Award.

Boys’ cross-country won the Class M state championship on Oct. 29, edging out Rocky Hill by 1 point. Dan Moroney won the individual state title by placing first with a time of 16:21. Coach Dom Casolari gave awards to: Dan Moroney, MVP; DJ LaBarre, MVP; Jimmy Clark, Coaches Award; and Patrick Begley, MIP.

Girls’ cross-country finished third at the Class M championship, with a combined score of 127. Season award recipients were: Eva Hogan, MIP; Elizabeth Rigby, MVP; Kellan McGann, Seger Award; and Kathryn Ravenola, Coaches Award.

Let us know what you think!
Please be as specific as possible.
Include your name and email if you would like a response back.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the code without spaces and pay attention to upper/lower case.