East Granby High wrapped up season with Fall Sports Awards

By Kathryn Elliott - ReminderNews
East Granby - posted Thu., Jan. 5, 2012
The East Granby High School girls' soccer team finished at 6-9, qualifying for the state tournament. Photos by Kathryn Elliott.
The East Granby High School girls' soccer team finished at 6-9, qualifying for the state tournament. Photos by Kathryn Elliott.

The winner of this year’s Michael’s Cup for an Exemplary Athletic Program, East Granby High School’s fall sports season ended with 77 percent of student athletes receiving NCCC Academic Excellence recognition. The impressive number derives from students competing in boys’ and girls’ soccer and cross-country.

EGHS Athletic Director Bob Paskiewicz presented the following students with NCCC Academic Excellence: Kyle Bowers, Chance Butler, Caroline Eastman, Anna Glassman, Dylan MarcAurele, Morgan Beatty, Valerie Price, Brianna Raymes, Caroline Roohr, Sean Rosenberger, Katelynn Vanags, Francesca Brose, Michael Hann, Saikrishna Chintalpelly, Allison Dube, Hannah Dumas, Sydney Geer , Robert, Glassman, Leke Gorani, Melanie Klucznik, Fiona Loschi, Jacqueline McDougall, Charlie Moger, Casey Tobin, Conor Fitzgerald, Ryan Gothers, Jacob Lareau, India Little, Matt Poliks, Eric Brazalovich, Samantha Eaton, Brett Kriss, Robert Nero, Connor Reardon, Melanie Sobota, Meredith Vanags, Nick Arsenault, Joe Brenner, Kendall Comstock, Samantha Daleb, Foster DeVane, Joshua Kriss, Jenna MarcAurele, Ben Plante, Jack Beatty, Alana Bouchard, Eileen Dempsey, Noah Fersch, Connor Kennedy, Mairead Loschi, Alex Moger, Kevin Blanchard, Melissa Kulik, Matt Plante, Brian Watterlond, Ryan Aeschliman, Brianna Ayers, Andres Restrepo and Delia Nolan.

In addition, individual coaches recognized their stand-out players for team contributions on and off the field. Varsity boys’ soccer coach Chris Pettee recognized the following players: MVP - Andres Restrepo; Coaches Award - Sean Rosenberger and Ryan Aeschliman. Aeschliman, Restrepo (All-State) and Milissa Kulik were named All-Conference. On the JV team: MVP - Nick Arsenault; Coaches Award - Bobby Nero; Hustle Award - Connor Reardon.

Girls’ soccer coach Jill Piekarski selected: MVP - Carlynn DeVane; Coaches Award - Eileen Dempsey and Mairead Loschi. Junior varsity winners: MVP - Morgan Beatty; Coaches Award - Katelyn Vanags. Senior Caroline Eastman was the Purple Heart Award winner.

In his role as cross-country coach, Paskiewicz honored the following members of the boys’ team: Most Improved - Bryan Chester; Most Valuable - Alex Moger (All-State); and Coaches Award - Kyle Bowers. The winners on the girls’ team were: Most Valuable - Anna Glassman and Caroline Rooher; Most Valuable Freshman - Casey Tobin.

Dylan MarcAurele and Casey Tobin were given the Athletic Academic Achievement Award for the highest grade point average and earning a varsity letter in their sport.

Let us know what you think!
Please be as specific as possible.
Include your name and email if you would like a response back.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the code without spaces and pay attention to upper/lower case.