EGHS honors athletes with winter sports awards

By Kathryn Elliott - ReminderNews
East Granby - posted Thu., Apr. 5, 2012
Basketball coaches Jeff Moger (L) and Joe Hopkins (C), present Noah Fersch with the MVP award at EGHS's Winter Sports Awards. Photos by Kathryn Elliott.
Basketball coaches Jeff Moger (L) and Joe Hopkins (C), present Noah Fersch with the MVP award at EGHS's Winter Sports Awards. Photos by Kathryn Elliott.

East Granby High School winter sports drew to a close on March 20 with the annual awards banquet at the East Granby Community Center.

EGHS Athletic Director Bob Paskiewiz began the evening presenting the NCCC Scholar-Athlete awards to students on the honor roll during the winter sports season. Forty-seven students were selected: Ryan Gothers, Jacob Lareau, Christina Wilson, Kendall Comstock, Foster DeVane, Ryan Freston, Ben Plante, Connor Kennedy, Ryan Aeschliman, Anna Glassman, Sean Rosenberger, Brian Watterlond, Eric Brazalovitch, Samantha Eaton, Brett Kriss, Robert Nero, Meredith Vanags, Jack Beatty, Eileen Dempsey, Chris Grabinsky, Raymond Marek, Alex Moger, Kyle Bowers, Chance Butler, Michael Han, Haylee Kulig, Jared Lowenstein, Matt Plante, Michelle Raabe, Caroline Roohr, Kiersten Walker, Morgan Beatty, Francesca Brose, Sai Chintalpelly, Allison Dube, Hannah Dumas, Sydney Geer, Robert, Glassman, Fiona Loschi, Jackie McDougall, Charlie Moger, Casey Tobin, Ryan Fitzpatrick, Delia Nolan and Chris Clark. The top two Scholar-Athletes with the highest overall GPAs were Mairead Loschi and Noah Fersch.

Paskiewiz recognized Chris Grabinsky for his efforts on behalf of the school as the sole member of the new fencing program. Additionally, Steven Sobota traveled with Suffield wrestling, representing EGHS as a one-man team. Grabinsky and Sobota received varsity letters.

Coach’s Award recipients were recognized for their individual efforts, team leadership and overall contributions to the betterment of their respective sports. The winners were: boys’ varsity basketball, Kyle Bowers; girls’ varsity basketball, Eileen Dempsey; girls’ JV basketball, Meredith Vanags and Morgan Beatty; cheerleading, Kiersten Walker; boys’ track, Matt Plante.

Most Valuable Player Awards were presented to students with the greatest individual statistics and highest level of respect for their teammates and opposition. Taking home the MVP Awards were: boys’ varsity basketball, Noah Fersch; boys’ JV basketball, Dylan O’Brien; girls’ varsity basketball, Kara Dumas; girls’ JV basketball, Michelle Raabe; boys’ track, Jehandrae Grant and Sean Rosenberger; girls’ track, Anna Glassman and Caroline Roohr.

Striving to increase their skills, the following athletes were named Most Improved: girls’ varsity basketball, Samantha Daleb; boys’ JV basketball, Luke Bilodeau; girls’ track, Kendall Comstock.

Senior Ryan Aeschliman received the Career Achievement Award from basketball coach Jeff Moger for his four-year contribution to the boys’ varsity program. On the JV side, Tyler Aresnalt was presented with the Team Anchor Award for his ability to bring his team together.

Let us know what you think!
Please be as specific as possible.
Include your name and email if you would like a response back.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the code without spaces and pay attention to upper/lower case.