RHAM takes home 'The Rail'

By Melanie Savage - Staff Writer
Hebron - posted Tue., Nov. 27, 2012
Adam Arnold is taken down by Bacon Academy defense during a Thanksgiving day game. Photos by Melanie Savage.
Adam Arnold is taken down by Bacon Academy defense during a Thanksgiving day game. Photos by Melanie Savage.

The Bacon Academy Bobcats spent the past year in possession of “The Rail.” The trophy, a piece of the old rail line that used to run from Hebron to Colchester (now part of the Airline Trail system), sat on the Bacon bench before the start of this year’s annual Thanksgiving Day footbhttp://www.remindernews.com/node/35371/editall game between the two schools on Nov. 22.

“They’ve had it for too long,” said RHAM coach Tom Hammon, predicting that his team would take the trophy home this year. “This one determines whether the turkey tastes good or bad,” joked Hammon. The turkey must have tasted great after RHAM took home the trophy with a 31-7 final score.

The victory caps off the season for RHAM. “It’s been a bit of a rough season,” said Hammon, noting that this year’s team is small in both size and number. “We haven’t got a lot of kids, and we’ve had a couple of injuries.” The Sachems finished up the regular season with a 2-7 record that would have been 3-6 if not for a Sept. 29 forfeit to Bulkeley. “We actually won the game 39-13, but there was an administrative mix-up,” said Hammon. Hammon said that for a new program, RHAM plays “a brutal schedule,” but has developed a reputation of “a pretty tough team.”

Going into the Thanksgiving game, Hammon had praise for senior co-captain Mike Luby. “He’s a tremendous football player,” said Hammon. Luby, an All-State candidate, posted 95 rushing yards for the game. RHAM touchdowns were scored by senior Nick Micoletti, sophomore Ryan Kirkpatrick, senior Will Rishell and sophomore Adam Arnold. The Bacon touchdown was scored by freshman Dan Narlock. Bacon finishes the season with a 2-8 record.

The coaching staff for this year’s RHAM football team are: head coach Thomas Hammon, and assistants Jarrid Clifton, Brad Dake, Erik Shortell, Bill Rishell, Dave Scoville, Chris Riley (scouting) and Steve Bertelsen (stats).

Seniors on this year’s team are: Ryan Arnold, Adam Baig (co-captain), Cameron Davis, Chris Durso, Nick Howard, Josh Jurovaty, Cody Landry, Baylor LaPointe, Mike Luby (co-captain), Matt Mager, Max Meadows, Nick Micoletti (co-captain), Michael Presch, Will Rishell, Joe Rulli and Zach Sullivan.


Let us know what you think!
Please be as specific as possible.
Include your name and email if you would like a response back.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the code without spaces and pay attention to upper/lower case.