Windsor High School football player named ‘Scholar-Athlete’

By Windsor High School
Windsor - posted Wed., Apr. 10, 2013
(L-r) Steve Risser, athletic director of the Windsor public schools; Rob Fleeting, head coach of Windsor High School football and a WHS teacher; Chris Traore, Windsor High School senior and the honored scholar-athlete; Paul Cosgrove, vice president of the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame – Northern Connecticut chapter; Chris Traore’s parents, Leonie and Mory Soumahoro; and Paul Broxterman, a Windsor High School football coach. Courtesy photo. - Contributed Photo

Windsor High School senior Chris Traore was recently recognized as a “2013 Scholar-Athlete” by the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame. The award honors exemplary student-athletes who excel in both academics and leadership.

Traore, a linebacker for the Windsor High School Warriors football team, is one of just 23 individuals from Northern Connecticut to receive this honor this year. He is third Windsor High School student to be honored with this award since 1997 and only the 11th from the school to receive it since the awards were established 46 years ago. Traore was nominated for this recognition by Windsor High School’s head football coach, Rob Fleeting.

Among those on hand for the surprise presentation at Windsor High School were Paul Cosgrove, vice president of the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame – Northern Connecticut chapter, Chris Traore’s parents, Mory and Leonie Soumahoro, coach Rob Fleeting, Athletic Director Steve Risser and other teachers, football coaches and players.

Traore’s name will be placed on a plaque in the National Football Foundation’s College Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind. He will be formally honored at the Foundation and Hall of Fame’s Scholar-Athlete Dinner to be held on May 19 at The Aqua Turf Club in Plantsville, Conn.

Windsor High School’s 10 previous National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame honorees are:
1967 – David R. Johnson
1973 – Donald C. Thomas
1983 – Charles Corpening
1986 – Timothy P. Clare
1989 – Elliot F. Beaver
1990 – Michael H. Buszczak
1991 – James T. Zawrotney
1997 – Nicholas T. LaFontaine
2010 – Hung Do
2011 – Dwight Meggie

For more information about the Windsor public schools, call 860-687-2000 or visit

Let us know what you think!
Please be as specific as possible.
Include your name and email if you would like a response back.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the code without spaces and pay attention to upper/lower case.