Museum opens for new season
Colchester - posted Mar, 20 2013
COLCHESTER- The Colchester Historical Society Museum will open for the season on Saturday, April 6 from 1-4 p.m. the museum is free and open to the public, with exhibits focused on Colchester and regional history. A recent, very popular exhibit is the "Circa 1940: Colchester Miniatures and Unique Photos" exhibit. This exclusive exhibit features miniatures of circa 1940’s historic buildings and “Windows to the Past” photos. Historic Colchester buildings featured in the exhibit include the work of two local artisans, Don Standish and Richard Arsenault. Each craftsman depicted the same buildings in a unique display combining the past and the present. Woodworker Don Standish created his miniature replicas to portray the town as it was in the late 1930s-40’s. Photographer Richard Arsenault used a technique known as “windows” to link vintage photos with new digital images. Additional museum exhibits include the History of the Hayward Rubber Company, the History of Henry Champion, the Story of the Zagray Family and the History of the Bulkeley Family. All exhibits are free and can be viewed at the Colchester Historical Society Museum on Saturdays between 1 and 4 p.m. The museum is located at 24 Linwood Avenue in Colchester, adjacent to the Cragin Memorial Library. Call 860- 537-5596 to arrange a group visit.